Tuition and Financial Aid
About Tuition and Financial Aid
As a state supported institution of higher education, The University of Texas at Dallas is required to comply with all state laws and approval by the UT System Board of Regents in the assessment and collection of tuition, fees, and deposits. The tuition, fees, and deposits listed herein are subject to change by legislative or regental action and changes become effective on the date enacted. Pursuant to Chapter 54, Texas Education Code, each student who registers is required to pay tuition and fees appropriate to the student's residence classification and according to the number of semester credit hours for which he or she has registered.
In accordance with state laws, a student is not entitled to enter a class or laboratory until registered and all tuition, fees, and deposits have been paid.
The University of Texas at Dallas utilizes a consolidated tuition rate, which is capped at 12 semester credit hours for all students. The consolidated tuition and fee rates cover all academic program costs, including tuition, mandatory fees, and most of the college and course incidental fees. Additional fees that will be charged separately are: field trip fees, supplemental designated tuition fees, laboratory fees, and distance education fees. The Tuition and Fee Tables can be found on the Bursar Office website.
Residency Classification for Tuition Purposes
Residency classification for tuition purposes at Texas colleges or universities is in accordance with Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 21, Subchapter B of the Texas Administrative Code and the rules of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board for determining residence status. A person classified as a nonresident for tuition purposes may qualify, under certain exceptions specified in the rules, for resident tuition rates and other charges, while he or she continues to be classified as a nonresident for tuition purposes. Please consult the following websites concerning residency classification for tuition purposes provided by the State Texas Administrative Code and www.collegeforalltexans.com. Please consult The University of Texas at Dallas' website for residency information and procedures, registrar.utdallas.edu/residence.
It is the student's responsibility to establish, prior to registration, the correct residence classification through the Office of the Registrar. Likewise, any student wishing to request a change of residence status for tuition purposes should do so through the Office of the Registrar. This will require completion of a residency questionnaire and the provision of documents to support the claim of Texas residency. Rules and regulations for determining residency, or for obtaining a waiver to pay resident tuition even if one is a non-resident, are found at registrar.utdallas.edu/residence. Final authority of appeal for review of residence decisions rests with the Office of the Registrar.
For residents of Oklahoma, tuition is the Texas resident rate shown plus thirty dollars ($30.00) per semester credit hour. Oklahoma residents must apply for this tuition waiver each semester through the Office of Financial Aid.
Beginning with the 2018 - 2019 academic year, all new incoming students will have the opportunity to choose from two rate plans: the guaranteed tuition plan and the variable tuition plan. The guaranteed tuition plan locks in your rate for 4-years (12 consecutive semesters). The rates under this plan are higher than a traditional plan in the first year because they are based on the projected average of tuition rates over the next four years. Rates in the variable tuition plan are lower than the guaranteed plan in the first year but are subject to annual rate changes. New incoming students will be defaulted into the variable tuition rate plan, but will have the option to enroll in the guaranteed tuition rate plan. For a comparison of estimated tuition under each of the plans, please visit our Tuition Plan Comparison website.
Variable Tuition Rate Plan
The 2023 - 2024 variable tuition plan rates are valid for fall 2023, spring 2024 and summer 2024. The variable tuition rate plan is based on a traditional plan that locks tuition rates one academic year at a time. The rates on the variable tuition plan are subject to increase each academic year. The charges per semester credit hour for tuition and mandatory fees at UT Dallas depend on the number of semester credit hours for which a student enrolls. Other User Fees for courses and services including, for example, parking, and housing fees, are subject to change.
Guaranteed Tuition Plan
Beginning fall 2007, The University of Texas at Dallas introduced the Guaranteed Tuition Plan. The Guaranteed Tuition Plan is designed to help new students and their families better plan for the cost of a college education, while allowing the University to maintain the quality of its academic programs. Under the terms of the plan, undergraduate students enrolling at UT Dallas for the first time for the fall 2023, spring 2024, and summer 2024 semesters are charged for tuition and mandatory fees fixed at a rate that is good for 12 consecutive semesters including summer terms. The charges per semester credit hour for tuition and mandatory fees at UT Dallas depend on the number of semester credit hours for which a student enrolls. Other User Fees for courses and services including, for example, parking, and housing fees, are subject to change. More information on the Guaranteed Tuition Plan can be found under Tuition Plans.
In the event a student is unable to complete their degree requirements in four years, that student will be advanced to the subsequent Guaranteed Tuition rate. Students enrolling after three consecutive semesters have elapsed will have the opportunity to choose between the Variable or Guaranteed Rate Tuition plans.
Students who graduate from UT Dallas before their rate plan expires may retain their current Guaranteed Tuition Rate as a graduate student. Additionally, if the student maintains consecutive enrollment and reaches the end of their Guaranteed Tuition Rate period, they will be moved to the next subsequent Guaranteed Tuition Rate plan. Students enrolling after three consecutive semesters have elapsed will have the opportunity to choose between the Variable or Guaranteed Rate Tuition plans.
Tuition Installment Payments
Students may elect an installment plan to pay tuition and fees for the full term fall, spring, and eleven week summer semesters. The installment payment plan, authorized under Section 54.007, Texas Education Code, allows the student to pay their tuition and fee balance in four equal payments during the fall and spring terms and three equal payments during the summer. A $25.00 fee per semester will be assessed to each student who elects to pay by installments. Additionally, a late payment fee of $30.00 for delinquent payment will be assessed each time an installment is not paid by the date it is due. If the installment is not paid in full by the final due date, it begins accruing interest at the rate of 10% per year until it is paid in full.
Nonpayment of Debt
Students must pay by the published deadline to avoid late fees and/or possible dropping of classes. Students should NOT expect classes to be automatically dropped for nonpayment. Please be advised it is the student's responsibility to confirm that he/she has been dropped from all classes for nonpayment to avoid being assessed late fees or penalties.
Students who have not paid in full or enrolled in a payment plan by the posted payment deadline may have their registration cancelled. If a student's registration is canceled for nonpayment, and that student wishes to reinstate registration, a reinstatement fee in addition to any late fees and tuition and fees will be charged. See the online fee schedules for fees associated with course reinstatement. No student will be reinstated in a closed course.
A student who fails to provide full payment of loans, tuition, and fees, including late fees assessed, to the University when the payments are due is subject to one or more of the following actions at the University's option:
- Classes may be cancelled;
- Bar against registration and/or readmission to the institution;
- Withholding of grades, diploma, and official transcript; and
- All penalties and collection actions authorized by law.
Tuition and Fee Exemptions/Waivers
As a state-sponsored institution of higher education in Texas, The University of Texas at Dallas is authorized to award tuition and fee exemptions and/or waivers to students who qualify based on statutory criteria. In order to continue to qualify for many of the tuition and fee exemptions or waivers, undergraduate students must maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.0 at The University of Texas at Dallas. In addition, in order to continue to qualify for most tuition and fee exemptions, undergraduate students must not be in violation of the state's excessive hours rule as defined in Section 54.014 of the Texas Education Code. (Texas Education Code, Sections 54.2001 and 54.2002). See Satisfactory Academic Progress for details regarding criteria and policies.
The following list of exemptions and waivers are available to UT Dallas undergraduate students:
- Adopted Students Formerly in Foster or Other Residential Care
- Blind/Deaf Student Exemption Program
- Children of Disabled or Deceased Firemen, Peace Officers, Game Wardens, and Employees of Correctional Institutions
- Citizens of Mexico with Need
- Competitive Scholarship Waiver
- Concurrent Enrollment (at UT Arlington or UT Southwestern Medical Center) Waiver
- Economic Development and Diversification Waiver
- Exemption for Ex-Prisoners of War
- Exemption for Highest Ranking High School Graduate
- Exemption for Peace Officers Disabled in the Line of Duty
- Exemption for Peace Officers Enrolled in Law Enforcement or Criminal Justice Courses
- Exemption for Students under Conservatorship of the Department of Family and Protective Services
- Exemption for the Surviving Spouse and Minor Children of Certain Deceased Public Servants
- Exemption Program for Clinical Preceptors and Their Children
- Firefighters Taking Fire Science Courses
- Good Neighbor Scholarship Program
- Hazlewood Exemption
- Military: After Assignment in Texas
- Military: Assigned to Duty in Texas
- Military: Children of U.S. Military who are Missing in Action or Prisoners of War (MIA/POWs)
- Military: Honorably Discharged, Separated or Retired Veterans who Move to Texas
- Military: Member, Spouse or Child who Remains Continuously Enrolled in Higher Education in Texas
- Military: Persons Eligible for Veterans Educational Benefits, Their Spouses, and Children who Move to Texas
- Military: Spouse and Dependents Who Previously Lived in Texas
- Military: Survivors
- Military: Texas National Guard Tuition Assistance Program
- Military: Waiver for NATO Forces
- Out-of-State Military: If Family Intent is to Make Texas Home
- Senior Citizen, 65 or Older, Free Tuition for 6 Semester Credit Hours
- Senior Citizen, 65 or Older, Free Tuition for Auditing Classes
- Taps for Tuition Program
- The University of Texas System Resident Tuition Benefit for National Lab Employees
- Waiver for College Faculty and their Dependents
- Waiver for Nonresidents Enrolled in Texas Public Universities who are Residents of Oklahoma
- Waiver of Nonresident Tuition for Foreign Service Officers Stationed in Mexico Attending Public Institutions of Higher Education in Texas
Tuition and fees are subject to change by legislative action. Changes in tuition or fees will be effective upon date of enactment and will be reflected in fees and tuition charged. Specific tuition and fees for each term can be found at bursar.utdallas.edu/tuition/tuition-plans-rates/.
Please note that the Texas Legislature does not set the specific amount for any particular student fee. The student fees assessed above are authorized by the state statute; however, the specific fee amounts and the determination to increase fees are made by the University administration and The University of Texas System Board of Regents. Students taking courses in the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences may be required to purchase professional liability insurance if they are in certain clinical experiences.
Students will be given notice on their tuition bill, tuition receipt or an email in connection with tuition charges, of the amount of his/her tuition payment that is required to be set aside to provide financial assistance for students enrolled at the institution per the Texas Education Code, Section 56.014.
Those who begin their college careers at a community college will also be able to take advantage of UT Dallas' Guaranteed Tuition Plan under a program called the Comet Connection. As Comet Connection members, students can lock in their tuition rate for 5 consecutive years. Students may contact UT Dallas' Office of Admission and Enrollment advisors at 972-883-2270 or go to enroll.utdallas.edu/transfer/comet-connection for more information.
The highest-ranking graduate of any accredited high school in Texas is entitled to a tuition exemption. The exemption pays tuition for a period of two long semesters of academic work. Eligible students must present the Texas Education Agency eligibility certificate or a letter from the student's high school principal or superintendent, to the Office of Financial Aid in order to claim the exemption.
Rebate of Tuition for Timely Graduation
Section 54.0065 of the Texas Education Code authorizes a tuition rebate of up to $1,000 for certain students who are receiving their first bachelor's degree from a public institution in Texas. Students may be eligible if they enrolled for the first time in an institution of higher education in the fall 1997 semester or later, are Texas residents, have been eligible for resident tuition in Texas at all times while pursuing their bachelor's degree, and have attempted no more than three semester credit hours in excess of the minimum number required to complete the degree under the catalog under which he/she is graduating. Students who enrolled for the first time at UT Dallas or any other institution of higher education in or after fall 2005 must also graduate within four calendar years of their first enrollment in order to qualify.
Attempted semester credit hours include all earned semester credit hours, unearned semester credit hours (completed courses with non-passing grades), all attempted transfer courses, academic credit earned by examination, courses dropped after an official census date, for-credit developmental courses, vocational/technical courses taken at other schools, optional internships or cooperative education courses, and repeated coursework.
Students must submit an application for the rebate to the Office of the Registrar before the degree conferral date for the semester they plan to graduate. Students will receive an official notification of their approval or denial within 4 to 6 weeks after the degree conferral date as posted in the Academic Calendar.
The amount of tuition to be rebated to a student under this program is $1,000, unless the total amount of undergraduate tuition paid by the student to the institution awarding the degree was less than $1,000, in which event the amount of tuition to be rebated is an amount equal to the amount of undergraduate tuition paid by the student to the institution.
Students wishing additional information about the Texas Tuition Rebate should visit the following website registrar.utdallas.edu/legislative-policies/texas-tuition-rebate