Tuition and Required Fees
Refund of Tuition and Fees
It is the student's responsibility to know and understand the state mandated refund policy. Upon notification from the Office of the Registrar of official withdrawal, the Bursar Office shall reimburse the applicable portion of tuition and fees (unless otherwise noted) in accordance with the following schedule:
If the student withdraws during a fall or spring semester or a summer term of 10 weeks or longer:
- Prior to the first class day of a given semester, 100 percent reimbursement
- During the first five class days, 80 percent of the applicable portion of the tuition and applicable fees reimbursement
- During the second five class days, 70 percent reimbursement
- During the third five class days, 50 percent reimbursement
- During the fourth five class days, 25 percent reimbursement
- After the fourth five class days, no reimbursement
If the student withdraws during a term or session of more than five weeks but less than 10 weeks (five- and eight-week summer sessions):
- Prior to the first class day of a given term, 100 percent reimbursement
- During the first, second, and third class day, 80 percent reimbursement
- During the fourth, fifth, and sixth class day, 50 percent reimbursement
- Seventh class day and thereafter, no reimbursement
Separate withdrawal refund schedules may be established for other fees and charges. Refer to the Other User Fees for Courses and Services section for refund information.
Cash refunds will not be made to students. Refund checks will be mailed to the student's address listed on their Student Center in Orion three business days after the refund is requested unless the student has opted for direct deposit through EZPAY. Direct deposit refunds are normally available 3 business days from the date they were requested.
A student who registers before receiving grades from the previous semester, and who is required to withdraw because of failure in the work of the previous semester, will have all fees for the current semester refunded.
No refunds will be granted unless application is made within one year after official withdrawal.
All policies regarding the payment or refunding of tuition, fees, and charges are approved by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System and are in compliance with the Texas Education Code, Section 54.006 of the Texas Statutes. If a person desires clarification of any matter relating to payment or refund of such charges, he or she should contact the office or administrative unit from which the charge or refund originated.
Refunding Students in Title IV Programs
As an institution participating in programs under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended ("Act"), The University of Texas at Dallas is required to refund unearned tuition, fees, room and board, and other charges to certain students attending the institution for the first time who have received a grant, a loan, or work assistance under Title IV of the Act, or whose parents have received a loan on their behalf under 20 U.S.C. Section 1087-2. The refund is required if the student does not register for, withdraws from, or otherwise fails to complete the period of enrollment for which the financial assistance was intended. No refund is required if the student withdraws after a point in time that is sixty percent of the period of enrollment for which the charges were assessed. A student who withdraws prior to that time is entitled to a refund of tuition, fees, room and board, and other charges that is the larger of the amount provided for in Section 54.006, Texas Education Code, or a pro rata refund calculated pursuant to Section 484B of the Act, reduced by the amount of any unpaid charges and a reasonable administrative fee not to exceed the lesser of five percent of the tuition, fees, room and board, and other charges that were assessed for the enrollment period, or one hundred dollars. If the student's charges were paid by Title IV funds, a portion or all of the refund will be returned to these programs.